Symposium | Alpine Landscapes in Transformation: Infrastructure, Culture, and Climate | Call for Abstracts

Didier Balissat & Hanae Balissat: Synthetische Landschaftsmomente, 2014.

Symposium, 12-13 May 2022 

Research workshops, round tables and keynote
Call for abstracts, deadline for submission 17 Dezember 2021
Organisation: chair Günther Vogt

Climate change, energy transition, urbanization, and industrialization have and will have tremendous effects on the Alpine landscape. Located at the crossroads of Europe, the transformations of this fragile environment need to be questioned. The symposium brings young researchers together with experts from practice, research, and the arts in a broad discussion about the past, present, and future of this unique landscape.

Alpine Landscapes in Transformation

The Alps are anything but static; they form a dynamic and sensitive organism. Their characteristic relief emerged from complex geological processes and was re-shaped by ice ages, erosion, and evolving life forms. Alongside these forces, humans have increasingly become major geomorphic agents. The consequences of human actions, calculated or unintended, have radically transformed the Alpine landscape, as illustrated today by climate change. The symposium addresses these changes and their representations through the lens of infrastructure, culture, and climate. Cases such as tunnels, roads, and dams shift substantial portions of mountain masses, re-structure entire water systems, revolutionise the mobility of people and goods, and generate new ecologies. These changes continuously challenge the established understandings of the environment. But they are also opportunities to question the worldviews those projects are predicated upon, allowing us to imagine alternative futures for the Alps.

An Interdisciplinary Gathering

This symposium is the opportunity to discuss past, ongoing, and future changes in the material and cultural reality of the Alps. It offers a moment of exchange and reflection to explore these transformations, following the development of industry, infrastructure construction, and climate change. This interdisciplinary gathering aims at consolidating the role of the spatial design and planning disciplines (architecture, landscape architecture, urban design and planning). Handling or even shaping new images of the Alpine landscape requires grounding these fields of practice both in contemporary scientific discourse, but also in the historical specificities of this cultural space. The production of a new and critical understanding of the Alpine landscape can only happen in close co-operation between disciplines, in a broadened field of expertise.

Format

The event consists of two main parts: several workshops focussing on research, and an afternoon of round-table discussions. The research workshops gather doctoral students and young researchers working on the topic of the symposium, giving them an opportunity to exchange ideas and reflect on their ongoing work. They are followed by round tables with various actors from academia and practice actively involved with the Alpine landscape. They are articulated in two sessions: labour/migration/culture and water/infrastructure/landscape. These discussions will offer a fragmented miniature of the complex issues at stake. A keynote presentation by Prof. Dr. h.c. Günther Vogt will complement the symposium.

Registration for the round tables and keynote on 13 May 2022
Programme follows
Organisation: Team of the chair Günther Vogt, landscape architecture, Institute of Landscape and Urban Studies, ETH Zürich
Contact: Rune Frandsen and Sarem Sunderland, doctoral students of the research project «Industrialisation in the Alps: Landscape, Architecture, Art, and Labour» (supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation, SNSF).

Call for Abstracts

The aim of the research workshop is to gather perspectives on the transformations of Alpine landscapes to complete the panel discussions held on the second afternoon. Contributions to the workshop should specifically tackle this topic in relation to industrialisation, infrastructure construction, climate change, or the cultural adaptations they require. These relations and interactions can be seen in the form of competition, passive coexistence, or symbiosis, but may also very well be proposals for alternatives in the form of projects.

The contributions must be aimed at one of the workshops listed below:

1. Shaping nation and shaping perception
2. Transformation and conflict
3. Emerging symbioses
4. Projections and alternatives
5. Open Workshop

For each workshop, 3 participants will be selected for a 15-minute presentation. This will be followed by an open discussion, moderated by a guest critic. The organisers retain the option of setting up one or several additional thematic workshops, based on submissions.

Please send the following to alpensymposium@arch.ethz.ch, latest by the 17th of December 2021:

  • Title of presentation
  • Choice of thematic workshop
  • Institutional affiliation of the author(s)
  • Abstract (up to 300 words)
  • Short bio (up to 150 words)
  • Contact details

Key Dates

  • Publication call for abstracts: 12.10.2021
  • Submission deadline (abstracts): 17.12.2021
  • Notification of acceptance: end of January 2022
  • Submission of presentation: 10.05.2022
  • Research workshops: 12.-13.05.2022
  • Round tables and keynote: 13.05.2022

 

Description of the thematic workshops

1. Shaping nation and shaping perception
Alpine passes, tunnels, or hydropower works have been narrowly intertwined with nation-building. These infrastructural works have historically positioned the Alps and the Alpine countries as both natural frontiers and points of passage, just as they have shaped discourses on national identity. Each project redefines the geopolitical relevance of a portion of territory in relation to the neighbouring countries and regions as if to constantly reconstitute a shimmering mosaic. The workshop embeds infrastructure works in larger political, territorial, or legal strategies, assessing the agency of the landscape in those projects.

2. Transformation and conflict
This workshop investigates the perceived destructive nature of industry and infrastructure construction. Landscape, as common ground, is the place where conflicts about its variegated uses, worldviews, and projected states play out. The multi-scalar dimension of infrastructure or industrial ventures brings global or transnational networks with very local specificities into immediate contact. The workshop focuses on the conflicts that arise from this friction: how are they perceived, contested, negotiated? Are the resolutions of the conflicts necessarily a zero-sum game?

3. Emerging Symbioses
Material interventions in the Alpine landscape can generate major disturbances over scales, time, and species. Whilst some relations are lost, new relations emerge, some of which can be seen as symbiotic (both materially and culturally). This workshop explores the nature and development of such relations: intentional or unexpected, transitory or permanent, well-known or experimental. Can they inform us in more detail about the position and effects of human interventions? And can they be used as models for further developments?

4. Projections and Alternatives
Being mainly project-oriented, the spatial disciplines (architecture, landscape architecture, urban design, and planning) have an operative role in suggesting ways of integrating industry or infrastructure into the Alpine landscape. The intent of this workshop is twofold. It calls designers and planners working on such transformations to the stand, to share their vision. It also aims at creating a public sphere for the discussions around recently completed projects, to be used as “lessons learned”.

5. Open Workshop
If your research relates to the overall topic of the symposium but less to the individual thematic workshops, please submit your abstract to the open workshop. Depending on the amount of submissions, several open worshops may take place. Papers submitted here are assessed in terms of interest
regarding the overall topic of the symposium.

Keywords: Alpine landscapes, landscape transformations, infrastructure, culture, climate

Downloads

Call for Papers (PDF deutsch)
Call for Papers (PDF english)

Symposium | Alpine Landschaften im Wandel: Infrastruktur, Kultur und Klima | Call for Abstracts

Didier Balissat & Hanae Balissat: Synthetische Landschaftsmomente, 2014.

Symposium 12. – 13. Mai 2022 

Forschungsworkshops, runder Tisch und Keynote
Call for Abstracts, Deadline 17. Dezember 2021
Organisation: Professur Günther Vogt

Klimawandel, Energiewende, Urbanisierung und Industrialisierung haben und werden enorme Auswirkungen auf die alpine Landschaft haben. Am Schnittpunkt Europas gelegen, müssen die Veränderungen dieser recht fragilen Umwelt durchleuchtet werden. Das Symposium bringt junge Forscherinnen und Forscher mit Expertinnen und Experten aus Praxis, Forschung und Kunst zu einer breiten Diskussion über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft dieser einzigartigen Landschaft zusammen.

Alpine Landschaften im Wandel

Die Alpen sind alles andere als statisch, sondern vielmehr ein dynamischer und sensibler Organismus. Ihr charakteristisches Relief entstand durch komplexe geologische Prozesse und wurde durch Eiszeiten, Erosion und sich entwickelnde Lebensformen kontinuierlich umgeformt. Neben all diesen Einflüssen ist zunehmend der Mensch selbst zu einem wichtigen geomorphologischen Element geworden. Die Folgen menschlichen Handelns, ob beabsichtigt oder unbeabsichtigt, haben die alpine Landschaft radikal verändert, wie der Klimawandel heute belegt. Das Symposium ergründet diese Veränderungen und deren Darstellungen durch die Optik von Infrastruktur, Kultur und Klima. Tunnels, Strassen und Dämme verschieben grosse Teile des Gebirges, strukturieren ganze Wassersysteme neu, revolutionieren die Mobilität von Menschen und Gütern und schaffen neue Ökologien. Diese Veränderungen stellen die tradierten Vorstellungen von der Umwelt ständig in Frage. Sie bieten aber auch eine Möglichkeit, unsere Weltanschauungen zu hinterfragen, auf denen diese Projekte ja beruhen, und ermöglichen alternative Vorstellungen der Zukunft unserer Alpen.

Ein interdisziplinäres Treffen

Dieses Symposium ermöglicht uns, vergangene, aktuelle und zukünftige Veränderungen der materiellen und kulturellen Realität der Alpen zu diskutieren. Es bietet einen Moment des Austauschs und der Diskussion, um diese Veränderungen im Zuge der Entwicklung der Industrie, des Infrastrukturbaus und des Klimawandels zu erkunden. Dieses interdisziplinäre Treffen soll die Rolle der Disziplinen der Raumgestaltung und Raumplanung (Architektur, Landschaftsarchitektur, Städtebau und Planung) stärken. Der Umgang mit, oder gar die Gestaltung von neuen Vorstellungen und Darstellungen der Alpenlandschaft erfordert eine Verankerung dieser Praxisfelder sowohl im zeitgenössischen wissenschaftlichen Diskurs wie auch in den historischen Besonderheiten dieses Kulturraums. Ein neues und kritisches Verständnis der alpinen Landschaft kann nur durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Disziplinen und in einem weiter als bisher gefassten Fachgebiet erfolgen.

Format

Die Veranstaltung besteht aus zwei Hauptteilen: mehrere Workshops mit Schwerpunkt auf der Forschung und ein Nachmittag mit Diskussionen am Runden Tisch. Die Forschungsworkshops bringen Doktorierende und junge Forschende zusammen, die sich mit dem Thema des Symposiums befassen, und bieten ihnen eine Möglichkeit, sich auszutauschen und ihre laufenden Arbeiten zu diskutieren. Es folgt ein Runder Tisch mit verschiedenen Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus Wissenschaft und Praxis, die sich aktiv mit der Alpenlandschaft auseinandersetzen. Er ist in zwei Sitzungen gegliedert: Arbeit/Migration/Kultur und Wasser/Infrastruktur/Landschaft. Diese Diskussionen werden eine Miniatur der komplexen Thematik aufzeigen, um die es hier geht. Eine Keynote von Prof. Dr. h.c. Günther Vogt wird das Symposium ergänzen.

Anmeldung für runden Tisch und Keynote am 13. Mai 2022
Programm folgt
Organisation: Team der Professur Günther Vogt, Landschaftsarchitektur, Institut für Landschaft und Urbane Studien, ETH Zürich
Kontakt: Rune Frandsen und Sarem Sunderland, Doktoranden des Forschungsprojekts «Industrialisierung in den Alpen: Landschaft, Architektur, Kunst und Arbeit» (gefördert durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds SNF)

Call for Abstracts

Die Forschungsworkshops sollen Perspektiven zum Wandel der alpinen Landschaften sammeln, um die Runden Tische am zweiten Nachmittag zu ergänzen. Die Beiträge sollen dieses Thema speziell im Zusammenhang mit der Industrialisierung, dem Bau von Infrastrukturen, dem Klimawandel, oder den dadurch erforderlichen kulturellen Anpassungen behandeln. Diese Beziehungen und Wechselwirkungen können in Form eines Wettbewerbs, einer passiver Koexistenz, oder einer Symbiose betrachtet werden, aber sehr wohl auch als Vorschläge für Alternativen in der Form von Projekten.

Die Beiträge müssen sich auf eines der unten aufgeführten Workshopthemen beziehen:
1. Staaten bilden und Wahrnehmung prägen
2. Transformation und Konflikt
3. Entstehende Symbiosen
4. Projektionen und Alternativen
5. Offener Workshop

Pro Workshop werden drei Teilnehmende für je 15 Minuten einen Vortrag halten. Die darauf folgende offene Diskussion wird von einer Gastkritikerin oder einem Gastkritiker moderiert. Die Organisatoren haben die Möglichkeit, je nach Beiträgen ein oder mehrere zusätzliche Workshopthemen einzurichten.

Bitte senden Sie bis spätestens 17. Dezember 2021 folgende Angaben an diese E-Mail-Adresse:

  • den Titel des Vortrags
  • das von Ihnen gewählte Workshopthema
  • Institutionelle Zugehörigkeit des Autors/der Autorin oder des Autorenkollektivs
  • ein Abstract (max. 300 Wörter)
  • einen kurzen Lebenslauf (max. 150 Wörter)
  • Ihre Kontaktinformationen

Wichtige Daten

  • Call for Abstracts: 12.10.2021
  • Einreichungsfrist: 17.12.2021
  • Benachrichtigung über die Annahme: Ende Januar 2022
  • Einreichung der Präsentation: 10.05.2022
  • Forschungsworkshops: 12.-13.05.2022
  • Runde Tische und Keynote: 13.05.2022

 

Workshopthemen

1. Staaten bilden und Wahrnehmung prägen
Alpenpässe, Tunnels oder Wasserkraftwerke sind eng mit der Staatenbildung verknüpft. Diese Infrastrukturen haben die Alpen und die Alpenländer historisch als natürliche Grenzen und Durchgangsorte positioniert und Diskurse über ihre nationale Identität geprägt. Jedes Projekt definiert die geopolitische Bedeutung eines Teils des Alpenraums im Verhältnis zu den Nachbarländern und Nachbarregionen neu, so als ob es ein schimmerndes Mosaik immer wieder neu zusammensetzen würde. Das Diskussionsforum bettet die Infrastrukturarbeiten in grössere politische, territoriale oder rechtliche Strategien ein und bewertet die Rolle der Landschaft in diesen Projekten.

2. Transformation und Konflikt
Dieser Workshop befasst sich mit dem wahrgenommenen zerstörerischen Wesen von Industrie und Infrastrukturbau. Die Landschaft als gemeinsamer Boden ist der Ort, an dem Konflikte über ihre vielfältige Nutzung, Weltanschauungen und projizierte Zustände ausgetragen werden. Die multiskalare Dimension von Infrastrukturen oder industriellen Unternehmungen bringt globale oder transnationale Netzwerke mit den jeweils lokalen Besonderheiten in unmittelbaren Kontakt. Der Workshop konzentriert sich auf die aus dieser Reibung entstehenden Konflikte: Wie werden sie wahrgenommen, bestritten, ausgehandelt und bearbeitet? Sind die Lösungen der Konflikte notwendigerweise ein Nullsummenspiel?

3. Entstehende Symbiosen
Materielle Eingriffe in die alpine Landschaft können grosse Störungen über Dimensionen, Zeit und Arten hinweg verursachen. Während einige Beziehungen verloren gehen, entstehen neue Beziehungen, von denen einige (sowohl materiell als auch kulturell) als symbiotisch definiert werden können. In diesem Workshop wird die Art und Entwicklung solcher Beziehungen untersucht: absichtlich oder unerwartet, vorübergehend oder dauerhaft, bekannt oder experimentell. Können sie uns allenfalls genauere Informationen über die Position und die Auswirkungen menschlicher Interventionen liefern? Und können sie als Modelle für weitere Entwicklungen dienen?

4. Projektionen und Alternativen
Da die räumlichen Disziplinen (Architektur, Landschaftsarchitektur, Städtebau und Raumplanung) in erster Linie projektorientiert sind, spielen sie eine operative Rolle, wenn es darum geht, mögliche Integrationen von Industrie oder Infrastruktur in die alpine Landschaft aufzuzeigen. Die Absicht dieses Workshops ist eine doppelte. Es ruft Designerinnen und Planer, die an solchen Transformationen arbeiten, an den Tisch, damit sie ihre Visionen mit anderen teilen können. Ausserdem soll ein öffentlicher Raum für Diskussionen über kürzlich abgeschlossene Projekte geschaffen werden, die als „lessons learnt” genutzt werden können.

5. Offener Workshop
Wenn sich Ihre Forschungsarbeit auf das Gesamtthema des Symposiums, aber eher weniger auf die einzelnen thematischen Workshops bezieht, reichen Sie bitte Ihr Abstract für den „Offenen Workshop” ein. Je nach Anzahl der eingereichten Beiträge können mehrere offene Workshops stattfinden. Die hier eingereichten Beiträge werden nach ihrem Bezug zum Gesamtthema des Symposiums bewertet.

Keywords: Alpine Landschaften, Landschaftsveränderungen, Infrastruktur, Kultur, Klima

Downloads

Call for Papers (PDF deutsch)
Call for Papers (PDF english)