German
01/01
Map of Munich and bavarian alps, ARGE Oberbayerisches Alpenvorland
Text

MUNICH – Alpine culture in the metropolis

The Alps as Common Ground

 Design Process Cartography XII

With each design semester the Chair of Professor Vogt is working its way around the Alpine arc with the thesis that it can be read as an urban Common Ground. The task of each design semester is to verify this thesis by focusing on a metropolitan region and enquiring as to its specific relationship with the Alps.

After Milan, Lyon and Ljubljana we shall be working in the coming semester with the urban territory of Munich. Germany’s third largest municipality lies in the foothills of the Alps in a sedimentary basin between the Limestone Alps and the Danube. The river Isar, which originates in the Alps in the Tyrolean part of the Karwendel, links the city on the one hand with the Alps to the South and thereby with northern Italy and on the other hand via the Danube with Vienna and eastern Europe.

Although the Bavarian Alps only account for seven per cent of the country’s area, they are of great symbolic significance. The romantic image of the idealised, idyllic Alps that is based on the two pillars of the ‘beautiful landscape’ and ‘genuine tradition,’ has been heavily promoted in Bavaria since the 19th Century. The reality looks somewhat different for those who live in the Alps. Since the 1980s the city of Munich has been expanding ever further southwards and displacing traditional land uses. Activities such as living, local recreation and sport that have too little space in the urban core or are affected by unfavourable conditions are being displaced into the bordering Alps.

The task of the semester is to redefine the meaning and use of the Alpine landscape at the crossroads between extensification (landscape as a museum) and intensification (e.g. tourism, agriculture or energy production) with the purpose of establishing a productive relationship with the metropolitan region of Munich.

We understand design not as an end product but as a process. Our first step is to investigate Munich’s large-scale relationships. A two-day long field trip complements this analytical gaze with a personal take on the area. Students then develop an individual programme as the foundation for their design. The proposed interventions can vary between urban planning and landscape scenarios and concrete architectural proposals.

 

Chair of Günther Vogt - Process Cartography
www.vogt.arch.ethz.ch - Contact: kissling@arch.ethz.ch
Assistants: Sebastiano Brandolini, Thomas Kissling, Ilkay Tanrisever
Design (052-1135-17L - 14 KP) and Integrated discipline planning / landscape architecture (051-1235-17L - 3KP)
The trip to Munich is from 07.10.17 until 08.10.17 (departure on Friday evening).
The contribution towards expenses will be 220 CHF.

 

Design
Current
Archive
2006
Workbook
Student Projects
2007
Workbook
Student Projects
2008
Workbook
Student Projects
2009
Workbook
Student Projects
2010
Workbook
Student Projects
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
Elective Pairi-daeza
Current
Semesterprogramm
Einschreibung Kritiken
Archive
2015 FS
2014HS
Workbook
Student Projects
Workbook
Student Projects
2007 FS
Workbook
Student Projects
2016 HS
Workbook
2007 HS
Studentenprojekte
Student Projects
2008 FS
Workbook
Student Projects
2008 HS
Workbook
Student Projects
2009 FS
Workbook
Student Projects
2009 HS
Workbook
Student Projects
2010 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2010 HS
Workbook
Student Projects
2011 FS
Workbook
Student Projects
2011 HS
2012 FS
Programme
Inscription Critique
Workbook
2012HS
Semesterdaten
Workbook
2013 FS
Programme
Einschreibung Kritiken
Workbook
2013 HS
Workbook
Programme
Einschreibung Kritiken
2017 FS
Workbook
2014 FS
Workbook
Semesterprogram
Inscription Critique
2017FS
Elective Urban Food
Current
Archive
2011
Workbook
Events
2012
Semesterprogramm
Topics Elective
Workbook
Reservationssystem Beete
2013
Workbook
Einschreibung Kritiken
2014
Inscription Critique
Workbook
2016
Seminar week
Current
Archive
2014 FS
2013HS
2013 FS
Documentation Chair
Documentation of student's work
2012 HS
2011 HS
Plakat
2010 HS
2015 FS
2015 HS
2016 HS
2017 HS
Subsidiary diploma subject
Current
Archive
2007 HS
2008 FS
2008 HS
2009 FS
2009 HS
2010 FS
2010 HS
2011 FS
2011 HS
2012 FS
Summerschool
Current
Programme
Workbook
Archive
2013
2016
landscape questions
Integrierte Disziplin

English
01/01
Karte München und Bayerische Alpen, ARGE Oberbayerisches Alpenvorland
Text

Ausblick Herbstsemester 2017
MÜNCHEN – Alpine Kultur in der Metropole
The Alps as Common Ground

Entwurf Process Cartography XII

Die Entwurfssemester der Professur Vogt kreisen um den Alpenbogen der These folgend, dass dieser als urbaner Common Ground gelesen werden kann. Jedes Entwurfssemester stellt sich die Aufgabe der Verifizierung dieser These, indem wir auf eine Metropolitanregion fokussieren und nach deren spezifischem Bezug zum alpinen Raum fragen. 

Nach Milano, Lyon und Ljubljana beschäftigen wir uns im kommenden Herbstsemester mit dem urbanen Territorium von München. Die drittgrösste Gemeinde Deutschlands liegt im Alpenvorland in einem Senkungsbecken zwischen den Kalkalpen und der Donau. Der Fluss Isar, der in den Alpen im Tiroler Teil des Karwendels entspringt, verbindet die Stadt einerseits mit den südlich gelegenen Alpen und somit mit Nord-Italien und andererseits über die Donau mit Wien und Osteuropa. 

Obwohl die bayerischen Alpen nur sieben Prozent der Landesfläche ausmachen, haben sie einen grossen symbolischen Stellenwert. Das romantische Bild der idealisierten, idyllischen Alpen was auf den beiden Säulen der „schönen Landschaft“ und des „echten Brauchtums“ beruht, wird in Bayern seit dem 19.Jahrhundert stark gefördert. Für die Bewohner der Alpen sieht die Realität anders aus. Seit den 1980er Jahren breitet sich die Grossstadt München nach Süden immer weiter aus und verdrängt die herkömmlichen Nutzungsformen. Funktionen wie Wohnen, Naherholung und Sport, die im städtischen Kerngebiet zu wenig Platz finden oder von ungünstigen Bedingungen betroffen sind, werden in die angrenzenden Alpen verlegt.

Die Aufgabe des Semesters besteht in der Neubestimmung der Bedeutung und Nutzung der alpinen Landschaft im Spannungsfeld zwischen Extensivierung (museale Landschaft) und Intensivierung (beispielsweise Tourismus, Landwirtschaft oder Energieproduktion) mit dem Ziel, eine neue produktive Beziehung mit der Metropolitanregion München herzustellen. 

Wir verstehen den Entwurf nicht als Endprodukt sondern als Prozess. In einem ersten Schritt untersuchen wir die grossmassstäblichen Beziehungen Münchens. Auf einem zweitägigen Field Trip ergänzen wir den analytischen Blick mit einer persönlichen Sicht auf den Ort. Daraus entwickeln die Studierenden ein individuelles Programm als Grundlage für ihren Entwurf. Die vorgeschlagenen Eingriffe können zwischen städtebaulichen und landschaftlichen Szenarien sowie konkreten architektonischen Vorschlägen variieren.

Professur Günther Vogt - Process Cartography
www.vogt.arch.ethz.ch - Kontakt: kissling@arch.ethz.ch
Assistenz: Sebastiano Brandolini, Thomas Kissling, Ilkay Tanrisever
Entwurf (052-1135-17L - 14 KP) und Integrierte Disziplin Planung und Landschaftsarchitektur (051-1235-17L - 3KP)
Die Reise nach München findet vom 07.10.17 bis 08.10.17 statt (Abreise am Freitagabend).
Der Unkostenbeitrag beträgt 220 CHF.

Entwurf
Aktuell
Archiv
2006
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2007
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2008
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2009
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2010
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2011
2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
Wahlfach Pairi-daeza
Aktuell
Semesterprogramm
Einschreibung Kritiken
Archiv
2015 FS
2014HS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2007 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2016 HS
Workbook
2007 HS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2008 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2008 HS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2009 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2009 HS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2010 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2010 HS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2011 FS
Workbook
Studentenprojekte
2011 HS
2012 FS
Semesterdaten
Einschreibung Kritiken
Workbook
2012HS
Semesterdaten
Workbook
2013 FS
Semesterdaten
Einschreibung Kritiken
Workbook
2013 HS
Workbook
Semesterprogramm
Einschreibung Kritiken
2017 FS
Workbook
2014 FS
Workbook
Semesterprogramm
Einschreibung Kritiken
2017FS
Wahlfach Urban Food
Aktuell
Archiv
2011
Workbook
Veranstaltungen
2012
Semesterprogramm
Themen Wahlfacharbeit
Workbook
Reservationssystem Beete
2013
Workbook
Einschreibung Kritiken
2014
Einschreibung Kritiken
Workbook
2016
Seminarwoche
Aktuell
Archiv
2014 FS
2013HS
2013 FS
Dokumentation Professur
Dokumentation Studierende
2012 HS
2011 HS
Plakat
2010 HS
2015 FS
2015 HS
2016 HS
2017 HS
Diplom
Aktuell
Archiv
2007 HS
2008 FS
2008 HS
2009 FS
2009 HS
2010 FS
2010 HS
2011 FS
2011 HS
2012 FS
Summerschool
Aktuell
Programm
Workbook
Archiv
2013
2016
Fragen zur Landschaft
Integrierte Disziplin